The Northern Stars was founded in August of 2000 by Randy Simmoneau and Zeke Zinn as an Association for the exchange of knowledge and information for owners and riders of the new line of Yamaha Star motorcycles. Shortly after a call went out for officers to form an executive to develop a National Association. Guy Fillatre(Webmaster, Newfoundland), Tim Kapitan(Promotion Officer, Manitoba) and Harv Craig(Membership Officer, Alberta) answered the call and the Northern Stars was on its way. This was the original 5.

Through the years others have served as Executive Officers including Martin van der Hoek, Pat Norris, Daniel Breault, Brian Platt and Peter Dawe. Presidents serving over the years were Randy Simmoneau(Aug.2000-March 2005), Martin van der Hoek(March 2005-Oct.2005) and Pat Norris Oct. 2005 – present).

With the growth of the Northern Stars there became a need to form provincial components of the National Association and a call went out to form provincial representation. The call was soon answered. Below is a list of provinces and dates they joined.

ON – Nov. 2003
AB – Dec 2003
MB – Dec.2003
SK – Feb. 2004
NB – Feb. 2004
QC – May 2004
NL – July 2004
BC – Oct.2004
NS – Dec.2004
PEI – April 2009

With this growth it was decided that having a National Rally was feasible and the first took place in Nordegg, AB in 2004. Listed below is the location and years of the National Rally. More information about the National Rally is available here


2004 – Nordegg AB
2005 – Rocky Mountain House AB
2006 – Moncton NB
2007 – Kamloops BC
2008 – Corner Brook NL
2009 – Russell MB
2010 – Trois Riviere QC (10th year Anniversary)
2011 – High River, AB
2012 – Clarenville, NL
2013- Orillia,On
2014 -Midland On